Remote Desktop

image

My first tech project of the year was to access my school computer remotely with my Xoom tablet.  I worked with our District IT guy to help get this idea rolling.  I’d mentioned my plan last year and we decided to run it as a pilot.  There were a few things we needed:  a wireless router, a tablet, and the remote access software.

After switching to Verizon Fios  this summer I had an extra Linksys WTR56GL router which I brought into school.  We hooked that up in the first week of school and with the IT help it took only about 15 minutes.  I can get a signal from one end of my room to about half way down the hall (about2 additional rooms).  I can’t give any other details on the tech.  You need the network guy to turn on the port and set the router proxy for the network.

The toughest decision I had to make regarding the technology was whether to go with the Samsung Galaxy Tab or the Motorola Xoom.  I went with the Xoom because it came with 32GB of memory and a 5 instead of 3 megapixel camera.  I was concerned about the weight initially but decided it didn’t matter since any cover would negate any benefit of the Samsung being slightly lighter.  I’ve been happy with the Xoom since them with a couple critiques which I may write up in another post.  Why not an iPad?  I have an android phone and already have a multitude of apps from the Amazon App Store.  Cost was another factor.  I had a $100 off coupon from Staples on Android Tablet and went for it.

After some research (reading reviews and discussions) I decided to use Splashtop HD for remote access.  It has the ability to go through network proxies, the graphics are great, and works on a number of platforms.  I purchased it through the Amazon App Store and installed the steamer on my home computer to test it out.  It worked great.  The next test was to install the streamer on my school computer and allow my Xoom and school computer to communicate through the school network.  To adjust network settings for individual access points on the Xoom simply hold down the SSID in the network settings section (I have Android version 3.2.1 at the moment).

Even without the remote access, having the Xoom has been awesome.  Our attendance is web-based so  I can now be anywhere in class to take attendance and not tethered to the the desktop.  One key to going digital with no physical gradebook is having access to the internet at all times (I’m trying a paperless gradebook this year).  As you can see in the picture, I can interact with anything on the primary monitor be it the interactive whiteboard software or PowerPoint.  The system isn’t perfect.  I have to use the Splashtop “keep the monitor the same” setting that does not show the entire screen, but I can easily scroll up and down.  Splashtop also doesn’t allow for an extended desktop yet but I hear it is in the works.  Overall, I’m pleased with the results of this project so far and would encourage others to give it a go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

